Can you see the Real me?

Image

Hi there! Welcome to this blog, cleverly titled after the Anthropology course for which I’m making this for. Genius I know. 

In my extreme neglect I haven’t yet kept up with this blog. I realize now that it’s not as hard as my anxieties try to have me believe ( yes, I’m prone to frequent anxiety attacks, whether or not I show it). So let get this textual reference of myself going, shall we?

Who are you? 

Well, to put myself into the ‘worldly’ demographic, I’m a gay white male college freshmen, a common enough label throughout the country. But what people often look past is that though I have pride in who I am, I don’t take the time to push myself away from the crowds, or to stand out (this is from my own perspective). This is partially due to anxiety, but it is also because I know who I am, what I am, where I came from, and where I want to go. Dressing the way I do, talking the way I do, is all normal in my own world. Not enough people seem to realize that I’m not attempting to impress anyone, I’m merely fitting into my own ‘residual self image’ (insert matrix reference). 

In short, you can see me as an artist, an activist, a liberal, non-religious, not entirely aware of what goes on in our politics, and, though a lot of people don’t show pride for it, or only know the urban dictionary term, a furry (look it up if you so please, this is at your own discretion). 

I tend to ramble.  Sorry if I am at all incoherent.

One thought on “Can you see the Real me?

  1. It is good to have your first posting be a social identity wheel of sorts. A way for people to get to know a little about you. I am curious about the label “activist” – how do you define this label – what does it mean to you? What exactly do you actively fight for or against?

Leave a comment