Noted, You don’t like my opinion.

Interestingly enough, I’ve had friends in the past who can’t seem to see past my homosexuality. 

A few years ago, a friend of mine and I were having at it in a verbal dispute. He was arguing the rights and wrongs of something a teacher had done, and I was trying to even him out, though I was losing my cool as well (I’m only human, it happens) 

The next day, he got wind from a former friend that I am gay. His attitude towards me dramatically changed. He immediately started…. to flirt with me.

I was NOT expecting this at all. I’d never even thought this friend was gay, let alone attracted to me. He proceeded to ask to hang out the next week, after a number of days of awkward smiles from across the lunch room and, once, a butt grab… creeped me right the fuck out. 

As we sat in our friends living room, He started talking about his previous arguements about his teacher, this time completely agreeing with what I said. Fair enough, I swayed his opinion. 

Later that evening, he sent me a text, and from that point on I stopped talking to him. his message was “I think you’re cute. Thats Y I listened to u” 

Apparently, my opinions all depended on my sexuality. apparently, the fact that I’m gay makes me on the same page as him, giving him a positive outlook on whatever my opinion is.

So then, this leaves me to wonder, what do other people think when they form opinions of me? Is my sexuality truly something that influences peoples thoughts/biases? 

Such a notion sounds ridiculous, I know, but humanity is not above this ridiculousness.Image

Leave a comment